Department of Psychology at Illinois State University

Diversity Task Force of Graduate Students in Psychology

As we become a more diverse and multicultural nation, there is an increased need for the Department of Psychology to match that growth. This is not only imperative to our department at Illinois State University, but to the field of psychology as a whole. The committee was initially founded in response to the American Psychological Association self-study for our doctoral program in School Psychology. The initial goal of the committee was to generate ideas for the recruitment and retention of students from diverse backgrounds in our school psychology program..

Shortly after our first meeting, the founding members realized that the school psychology student body was the most diverse it has ever been. Although exciting, the committee also found this fact unfortunate. Given this information, the founders independently decided to become a self-sustaining student body that would actively pursue the recruitment and retention of students from diverse backgrounds. Since the founding of the task force, our group has expanded to represent all graduate programs in the Department of Psychology and has been named the Diversity Task Force of Graduate Students in Psychology. All psychology graduate students are invited to join our organization. We have also become a Registered Student Organization (RSO) with program faculty member Dr. Adena Meyers as our advisor, which entitles our organization to university funding to support our activities. We are strictly a volunteer organization made up of students that are dedicated to our founding cause.

Invitation to A Cultural Lunch

Thursday, September 18, 2014
551 DeGarmo Hall from 11:45 a.m. until 1:00 p.m.
Psychology graduate students, faculty, and staff are invited to join the Diversity Task Force for for their annual cultural lunch. Share your culture and bring a dish for lunch. The lunch is free but please contact Daisy Bueno by e-mail by NOON on Wednesday, September 17, to let her know your are attending.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held on Thursdays from 8;30-9;30 p.m. at the Psychological Services Center, 4th floor of Fairchild Hall. Please use the main building entrance on Dry Grove Street.

August 28
September 11
October 2
October 23
November 13
December 4

Student and Faculty Spotlight

SPRING 2014: Ms. Jennifer Brown and Dr. John Pryor

FALL 2012: Ms. Kerry Pecho and Dr. Scott Jordan

SPRING 2012 : Ms. Mackenzi Harmon and Dr. Eros DeSouza

FALL 2011: Ms. Kandace Waddy and Dr. Gary Creasey

Student Publication

Kremsreiter, J., Banks, B., & D'Santiago, V. (2012). Recruitment and retention efforts for diversity at Illinois State University. School Psychology: From Science to Practice, 5(1), pp. 17-19. (PDF)
An article written by three School Psychology doctoral candidates, Jamie Kremsreiter, Brea Banks, and Verenice D'Santiago, was published in the spring 2012 issue of School Psychology: From Science to Practice.

Research Opportunities

The following psychology faculty members conduct research that addresses diversity and multicultural issues:

More Psychology Faculty Research Information


Task Force Members

  • Dr. Adena Meyers, Faculty Advisor
  • Lynda Kasky-Hernández, President (School Psychology)
  • Daisy Bueno, Vice President (School Psychology)
  • Alyssa Sondalle, Secretary (School Psychology)
  • Kerry Pecho, Treasurer (School Psychology)
  • Brea Banks, Student-Faculty Liaison (School Psychology)
  • Jennifer Engelland (School Psychology)
  • Jennifer Mays (School Psychology)
  • Eddie Mockus, School Psychology
  • Nicole Moore (School Psychology)

You may also contact the Diversity Task Force by e-mail.

Meet the founding members of the Student Diversity Task Force Committee

Our Current Projects:

1. Recruitment outreach
2. Retention efforts
3. Community outreach
4. Research

For a detailed explanation of each project, please refer to our Student Diversity Task Force Action Plan (revised September 9, 2011).

Other Links