Diversity Task Force

As we become a more diverse and multicultural nation, there is an increased need for the Department of Psychology to mirror that growth. Diversity is not only imperative to our department and Illinois State, but also in the field of psychology. The Diversity Task Force was initially founded in response to the doctoral program's self-study, which is required by the American Psychological Association. The initial goal of the Task Force was to generate ideas for the recruitment and retention of students from diverse backgrounds for the Graduate Programs in School Psychology.

The mission was expanded to represent all graduate programs in the department and the title was changed to the Diversity Task Force of Graduate Students in Psychology. Graduate students from all psychology programs and sequences are invited to join our organization. We have also become a Registered Student Organization (RSO) with Dr. Adena Meyers as our faculty advisor. As a RSO, the Diversity Task Force receives university funding to support our activities. We are strictly a volunteer organization made up of students who are dedicated to the diversification of the field of psychology.

Task Force Officers

  • Dr. Adena Meyers, Faculty Advisor
  • President
  • Vice President
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary

Current Projects

  • Recruitment outreach
  • Retention efforts
  • Community outreach
  • Research