Department of Psychology at Illinois State University

School Psychology Institute

Each year the Graduate Programs in School Psychology sponsor an institute for current school psychology trainees, faculty, and area mental health professionals. Institute presenters are national leaders in school psychology and related areas that impact the practices of school psychology.

The Institute consists of a three-hour skill-based workshop for community-based professionals, trainees, and interested faculty. The afternoon program includes a research colloquium that is open to anyone interested in the presenter's research. The Institute ends with an informal meeting with current doctoral trainees to further discuss the presenter's research and other professional issues impacting the field of school psychology.

Presenters and Topics
17th Annual Institute (2014)
Joel Meyers, Ph.D.
Georgia State University
Intervention and Prevention Strategies to Address Bullying and Cyberbullying
See this Institute's website for more information.
15th Annual Institute (2012)
Mark Reinecke, Ph.D.
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Depressed Adolescents
16th Annual Institute (2013)
Thomas J. Huberty, Ph.D., ABPP
Indiana University
Childhood Anxiety Disorders: Identification, intervention, and prevention
13th Annual Institute (2010)
John W. Payton, DrPH, and Kay Ragozzino, M.A.
University of Illinois at Chicago
Promoting Children's Social and Emotional Development
Through School-based Social-Emotional Learning
14th Annual Institute (2011)
Mark Shinn, Ph.D.
National-Louis University
Implementing Response-to-Intervention (RtI)
at Middle and High School Levels
11th Annual Institute (2008)
Susan Wilczinski, PhD, National Autism Center
12th Annual Institute (2009)
Karen Stoiber, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Chaos in the classroom
9th Annual Institute Institute (2006)
Dorothy Espelage, PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana
10th Annual Institute (2007)
Scott Poland, PhD, Nova Southeastern University
School Violence
7th Annual Institute (2004)
Nadine Kaslow, PhD, Emory University
Childhood Depression
8th Annual Institute (2005)
Dan Reschly, PhD, Peabody College of Vanderbilt University
Response to Intervention
5th Annual Institute (2002)
Deborah Crockett, PhD, Atlanta, GA Public Schools
Developing A Tolerance Curriculum
6th Annual Institute (2003)
Tom Power, PhD, Children's Hospital, University of Pennsylvania
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
3rd Annual Institute (200)
Tom Kratochwill, PhD, University of Wisconsin
Empirically-supported Interventions
4th Annual Institute (2001)
Russ Skiba, PhD, Indiana University
Violence Prevention
1st Annual Institute (1998)
George Batsche, PhD, University of South Florida
2nd Annual Institute (1999)
Susan Sheridan, PhD, University of Nebraska
Home/School Collaboration